Ride Those Waves

hlayer_malone-u3542A Guest Post by Deborah Malone

Even though I teach writing mysteries and marketing there is an underlying message I like to share with my fellow writers. The question I ask is, “Can you meet your goals even as you are facing life’s many challenges? My answer, “Yes, you can!”

The reason I can answer yes, is because I’ve met my goals while going through some tough challenges life threw my way. In 1999, I went through a divorce after twenty-six years of marriage. To say the least it was a devastating time. Not only had I just turned 45, I had been living with fibromyalgia for several years. My disabled daughter, Niki, and I moved in with my dad who was then in his 80s and in poor health.

I became caregiver for Niki and Dad both. In 2000, I began writing articles for the historical magazine “Georgia Backroads.” This lit a fire in me to write a novel and in 2002 I started my first cozy mystery, Death in Dahlonega. I finished that novel, as well as most of the second one in the series, but life got in the way and I put them on the shelf.

It would be 2009 before I got them down, blew off the dust, and started writing again. By this time, Dad had passed away and I had caregivers in my home seven days a week, twenty-four hours a day to care for Niki. Having people in my home all the time was stressful to say the least, but it freed up time for me to get back to writing. It would be another two years of attending conferences, reading books, going to writer’s meetings and becoming a member of the on-line writers’ group American Christian Fiction Writers before my first book Death in Dahlonega was published by Lamp Post Publishing.

I’ve written a book a year since then and my sixth book, Decatur Dead, has just been published. I say all that to let you know your goals can be accomplished in the face of life’s storms. Our timing may not be God’s timing, but that doesn’t mean it isn’t going to happen. Everything I experienced during those difficult years led to who I am today. I would venture to say that my experiences have made my writing better.

So, if you’re riding life’s waves right now, don’t give up on your writing! Do what you can while waiting on those waves to calm down. Remember, this is all part of your journey to publication.

Meet Deborah

Deborah Malone’s first novel, Death in Dahlonega, finaled in the American Christian Fiction Writers Category Five writing contest. Deborah was nominated in 2012 and 2013 for the Georgia Author of the Year Award in the Novel category. She has worked as a freelance writer and photographer for the historic magazine Georgia Backroads.

Deborah has been featured in Tales of the Rails, edited by Olin Jackson, as well as in the Christian Communicator and Southern Writers Magazine. She is a member of the Georgia Writers Association, Advanced Writers and Speakers Association, and American Christian Fiction Writers.

Deborah’s Workshop

Mystery Writing 101

So you want to write a mystery! Mystery Writing 101 covers the ABC’s of writing a mystery. Topics covered are What is a Mystery, Characters, Setting, Clues, Point of View, Dialogue, Plotting, Editing and Tying up the Package.

Leave a Reply

