Storytelling as Folk Art

patricia_neely_dorsey_A Guest Post by Patricia Neely-Dorsey

Storytelling is a special  folk art. To me, folk art is  simply art made/performed by ordinary “folk” for ordinary “folk.” Folk artists attempt to freeze their memories into their art and help to preserve the culture and customs of everyday life. Through the poems in Reflections and Magnolia Memories, I hope to offer a time capsule, of sorts, for future generations, giving a glimpse into the everyday lives of everyday people in our region.  I would best describe my poetry as “folk poetry” and “poetic storytelling.”

I must admit an affinity for the familiar, the common, the everyday, the ordinary and the simple  things of life. My poems are essentially a collection  of “snapshots”‘ from my life in written form of people, places, events and lessons learned.

I believe that we can bridge many gaps of misunderstanding across regional, racial, cultural, generational and economic lines by simply telling/sharing our stories.

Miguel Algarin said, “When I see what you see, the distance between us disappears.”

One reviewer called Reflections of a Mississippi Magnolia a poetic autobiography. I think that is such an accurate description. .It is definitely my life in poems My poems celebrate a wonderful life experience growing up in Mississippi .

Overall, all of my poems are “a celebration of the South and things southern.”

My slogan is:

Always, Always Celebrating the South and Promoting a Positive Mississippi

Meet Patricia

Patricia Neely Dorsey with booksPatricia Neely-Dorsey is an author, poet, and motivational speaker. In her poetry books, Reflections of a Mississippi Magnolia and My Magnolia Memories and Musings, Patricia celebrates the South and all things Southern. Using childhood memories, she gives readers a positive glimpse into the Southern way of life. Patricia lives with her husband, James, son, Henry, and miniature schnauzer, Happy, in the beautiful red clay hills of Tupelo, Mississippi, Elvis Presley’s birthplace. She holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in Psychology from Boston University. In February 2015, Patricia was declared an Official Goodwill Ambassador for Mississippi by Governor Phil Bryant.

Patricia’s Workshop

Creative Memoir Writing

Would you like to preserve your family history and life story for future generations?  That does not necessarily mean compiling a strict chronological biography or autobiography. I happened to put my life in poems. There are endless, creative ways to tell our stories. Let’s explore some of them.

Leave a Reply

