Going from Clueless to Contracted

Jessica Patch headshotA Guest Post by Jessica R. Patch

They say (whoever they are) that Rome wasn’t built in a day. I’m not so sure that even really needs to be said. Clearly it wasn’t. Books won’t be written in a day either. Clearly that didn’t need to be said either. Point is, writing a well-crafted book takes more than one day. For me, I began writing in 2009. I had no idea what I was doing. Never read a craft book. Never even heard of a writer’s conference. I simply knew I wanted to do what I was most passionate about…tell romantic stories that showed the lavish love of God for His people, to bring hope to a struggling individual.

I admit those books had some serious issues. Head-hopping for one. That’s a no-no these days. But there was some very good stuff there as well. I happened upon a writing contest hosted by The Christian Writer’s Guild and decided to enter. This was at a time when I thought editing meant making sure there weren’t any typos. Yeah. I’ve learned. Needless to say, I didn’t win that contest, and I’m thankful. I had no clue. However, I did meet with an agent who liked my story idea and asked to see the full manuscript. By that point, I understood I needed more help and found another newbie writer who critiqued for me (we’ve been critiquing each other’s work since 2011). I fixed the issues at hand, even the ones the agent asked me to correct, and was offered representation. I devoured craft books and put what I learned to good use, discovering my voice, understanding the elements of a great romance even better, and creating a story that led to four contracts in one year with Harlequin Love Inspired Suspense.

In my workshop, How to Write a Riveting Romance, I not only want to share the recipe, including all the tricks and tips, but I want to encourage you to keep writing, keep believing, and keep dreaming. God-given dreams come true.

My favorite non-fiction author, Mark Batterson says, “Work like it depends on you. Pray like it depends on God.”

Because it does. When you leave this workshop, you’ll be burning in your bones—to write, to go deeper in your relationship with the Creator of romance, and to craft an epic love story. And you’ll be renewed and refreshed which makes the wait for God’s perfect timing bearable.

Hope to see you there!

Warmly,

Jessica

Fatal Reunion by JessicaMeet Jessica

Jessica R. Patch lives in the Mid-South where she pens contemporary romance and romantic suspense novels. When she’s not hunched over her laptop or going on adventuresome trips in the name of research with writing friends, you can find her watching way too much Netflix with her family and collecting recipes to amazing dishes she’ll probably never cook. Sign up for her newsletter at http://www.jessicapatch.com. Jessica is represented by Rachel Kent of Books and Such Literary Management.

Jessica’s Workshop

How to Write a Riveting Romance

Company is coming and you’re preparing a decadent chocolate cake. But it caves in. What went wrong? Lack of preheating, overbeating, and timing are just a few factors that can ruin a beautiful dessert. Learn how to follow the recipe for crafting a romance while keeping your unique voice. Leave readers ooohing and aaahing, devouring yet savoring each sizzling bite to the satisfying finish—and begging for more.

Leave a Reply

