Conference Director April Carpenter Welcomes You!

April Carpenter 01I’m excited to be the director for the Mid-South Christian Writers Conference (MSCWC)for the third time. I love attending writing conferences but I especially love our conference. These past two years have been amazing. Working with the best writers on earth (no lying), and watching God move mountains are just some of the reasons why I love our conference.

MSCWC is one of the best bargains around. The $65 (until Feb. 27; $75 after) price includes a great keynote speaker, Edie Melson (two sessions with the key-note) and three breakout sessions. (Click here for Registration Info.)

New this year we are having a Meet and Greet sponsored by Guidepost. All registered attendees, faculty and staff are invited to meet at Collierville First Baptist Church for light snacks and fellowship.

Also new this year is One-on-one Appointments on Saturday, March 19. Each attendee will have the opportunity to sign up for one 15-minute appointment with a faculty member to discuss publication, get feedback, ask questions, etc. Sign-ups will take place the morning of the conference.

The day of a writing conference brings me into self-awareness. You can say that I stop and smell the roses. I let the world continue doing what it’s doing and I become fully present. I become painfully aware of what writing I have done and not done.

Conferences help me to refocus my commitment to God and His plan for my writing. I seek forgiveness from God and then I forgive myself. I make a plan to get back to writing.

Go now, write it on a tablet for them, inscribe it on a scroll, that for the days to come it may be an everlasting witness” (Isaiah 30:8; NIV).

We’re praying for all the conference attendees. My personal prayer for you is that you leave our conference ON FIRE!

If this conference sparks one thing in you, and that in turn helps you in your writing, then we have accomplished one of our goals.

What are your personal goals for writing? Trust me when I say the people you meet will ask, “What sort of writing do you do?” and “what are you working on at the moment?” Take time to ponder why you write and why you feel called to write before March 18th.

We are honored that you have chosen this conference. See you on Friday, March 18th.

 

Leave a Reply

